On October 17, 2018 the Merchantville Historical Society met for their annual meeting with a presentation of Eagle Scout Zachary Moore's documentary "The Voices of Merchantville". Zachary showcased his presentation -
The village prior to 1850 contained only the buildings of the farm and tenant-houses of the Rudderow family. Soon after that time Alexander G. Cattell purchased theplot of ground containing the old house built by John Rudderow in 1804, which he tore down and erected on its site his residence. In 1856 Amos Rudderow, whoowned the farm, sold to Jacob Bunting, ten acres of land on tlie south side of the pike, for the purpose of laying it out into lots. He erected a house, now the property of Mr. Whickall, a spice merchant of Philadelphia. Soon after the Hon. A. G. and E. G. Cattell, John Loutz and David E. Stetson purchase*! twenty acres of land on the uorth side of the pike, where each erected a mansion. Iu 1858 the same persons bought seventy-five acres, the balance of the Amos Rudderow farm. About the same time A. G. and E. G.